10 items you think are Vegetarian but are actually Non-vegetarian

There are both the kinds of people in the world, one who prefers vegetarian diet while the other who loves to eat non-veg. But vegetarians here is bad news for you.as you will be surprised to know that the most nutritious orange juice is actually non-vegetarian. Read to know these daily food items that are commonly found in every vegetarian household are actually non-vegetarian in nature.

Naan

Naan is considered it to be pure veg. But the shocking thing is that some restaurants use eggs while kneading the naan dough, so as to make it soft and increase elasticity. People love to eat naans with their favorite sabzis, but if it contains eggs, it’s better to opt for chapattis, right?

Cheese

Vegetarians just can’t imagine fast food without loads of cheese. All the people who drool over cheese dishes have sad news. Some varieties of cheese contain an enzyme called Rennet that is derived from the gastrointestinal tract of animals.

White sugar

Every one of us uses white sugar in almost everything, it’s kind of a basic ingredient that’s found in all households. What if we tell you that sugar is non-veg. “Natural carbon” is used while bleaching; sorry to say, but what is claimed as “Natural” here is charred animal bones. Most of the companies prefer granular carbon because it doesn’t contain animal products. It’s better to use brown sugar.

Salad dressings

When vegetarians go to other countries wherein it’s hard to find pure veg food, they resort to salads, because they are sure it’s the only veg option available. You will be heartbroken to know that salads are veg but the dressings used are non-veg many a times. Yes, many sauces contain eggs; it’s good to check out with the restaurant first even though you are ordering a lettuce salad. Have complete information about the sauces being used.

Chocolate

While many dark and white chocolates are considered apt for vegetarians, there are a few chocolates that use whey powder which may contain a coagulating enzyme called- Rennet that is extracted from calf’s stomach after slaughter. Better read the ingredient details before buying your bar of happiness.

Chewing Gum

We all know that those yummy chewing gums contain gelatine, but we hardly know that they are not appropriate for pure-vegetarians, because the gelatine used in them comes from the skin, tendons, ligaments, and bones of pigs and cows.

Beer

Many will stop drinking beer after reading what it contains. Many makers make use of fish bladders i.e. “Isinglass” for clarifying the beer and giving it a good color. You might be in love with the beer’s color, but this is the creepy truth behind it.

Potato chips

Potato chips can be consumed while fasting too, but let us tell you the ugly truth. Some chips especially barbeque flavor contain chicken fat; it’s really sad to hear that our all-time favorite snack having a tag of “Non-veg”; once again, this is not the case everywhere; many manufacturers don’t resort to this chicken fat and serve us crisp veg chips.

Cake mix

People prefer baking cakes at home because they have a doubt that the cakes available outside are not pure veg, but even some cake mixes contain lard or pork fat. Did you get that yukk feeling? Please check the ingredients next time.

Packed Orange Juice

Orange juice contains vitamins and minerals that keep heart healthy. But this healthy drink might not be suitable for vegetarians because it contains added omega-3 fatty acids which come from fish oils. The abundant vitamin D in the juice is derived from lanolin, the natural oil found in the fiber of sheep’s wool. However, this does not apply to all packed orange juices.

Next Story