If you love ghosts then you must read these 7 horror stories

Horror reads are one of the life’s guilty pleasures. There’s nothing like a good horror story – the scarier the better, to keep you wide awake at night. Well if you too love horror suspense and these are the best books which you should read. I have preferred those stories that have an ‘atmosphere’ about them – a feeling of menace, of terror, of the supernatural, or even of gentle melancholy.

Strange Yarns

This 2016 Watty Award winning anthology includes a collection of short horror stories. Writer Josh Saltzman is specialized in comedy but proves here that a good scare, like a good joke, is all about timing. Strange Yarn is a ball of tangled tales. Twisted, knotted, and intertwined. Like Tales from the Crypt, the Twilight Zone, and the Outer Limits.

Hide and Seek

As the cover alludes, this story is not for the faint of heart. The writer is a member of both the Wattpad Stars Program and horror collective. The book starts like this… When you enter the house, you follow the rules, you play the game…My name is Emily. I thought it was a normal, abandoned house. I thought she was a normal girl. I thought we’d play a normal game of hiding and seek. Turns out I was wrong. Dead wrong…

Oh, my gosh this novel would be so much fun.

Puppet Boy

What’s scarier than a loss of control? Perhaps being turned into a human puppet. This book is a story about a teenage boy and girl find themselves trapped in the lair of a crazy man obsessed with human puppetry.

Wendigo

I’m a sucker for any book that deals with mythical creatures and monsters, and I’ve been fascinated with the legends that surround the Wendigo, whether through the written word or television/film adaptations… so I was beyond excited to hear about Vaughn C. Hardacker’s novel.

Little Heaven

In little heaven the readers will find themselves in the backwoods of New Mexico, searching for a woman’s nephew who may have been taken against his will. This is one of the craziest and scariest novels of all.

Bird Box

With your eyes closed and your imagination unfettered, you can envision creatures whose monstrosity knows no bounds. Detroit-based author Josh Malerman manifests an apocalypse of the obscured in Bird Box, in which undiscovered entities start appearing around the world and just one glance of their grotesquery drives people to suicide. But don’t do that friend, just read and enjoy.

Heart-Shaped Box

Joe Hill’s Heart-Shaped Box remains one of the most startling horror debuts in recent memory, announcing the arrival of an all-time great scaremonger. The premise should be grounds for immediate ridicule a past-his-prime rock star orders a ghost off of eBay, but Hill shapes the laughable pitch into a breakneck tale of terror… well, I am not going to tell you full story rest you have to read.

Next Story